I Used To Be A Liar

I used to be such a lair! And I was a liar for most of my life! ahhaha. I could argue that my lies didn’t come from an evil heart. But I was used to throwing random lies to people all the time. And this is the story of how I realized I needed to stop.

It was a summer afternoon during a weekday. I was making time in the mall while waiting for my Muñequito. We were going to have dinner in the Food Court and then walk to one of our first Natural Family Planning Classes (In case you want to know what method we use, I highly recommend the Creighton Model).

I entered a store, where a very friendly sales associate started talking to me. The conversation went something like this:

SA: Looking for something in particular?

M: Not really, thanks.

SA: Beautiful day, eh?

M: It is, so nice and warm.

SA: Are you off work?

M: Yes, I am (lie #1)

SA: What are your plans?

M: Oh! I’m just waiting for my husband to have dinner

SA: Where are you guys going?

M: We’re having dinner with friends (lie #2)

G: Fun! What kind of dinner?

M: Just a BBQ (lie #3)

SA: At your place?

M: No, at my friend’s place (lie #4)

I don’t think I was ashamed to say I was going to NFP classes. It is true that back then I wasn’t as confident or outspoken about my faith, but still, I don’t think shame was the reason of my lies. I wasn’t mad at the girl, she was only trying to do her job. I thought NFP classes were no one’s business but mine.

So next day I went to confession, and explained the priest how easily my lies just started to escalate. As always, he gave this his amazing advice, and I fully realized how most of my life I’d been a liar.

But Praise God, ever since that day, I can probably count the number of lies that I’ve said.

I never saw lies as a big deal, specially when the lies are not that evil. Sometimes when I Skype with my mum, and I’m complaining about going to places I don’t want to go, she tends to say just say that you’re sick, that you cannot go. Then I need to explain to my mum that I don’t lie anymore, but she doesn’t really get it because she sees no harm in that kind of lies.

Stopping the lying hasn’t been that hard, but I’m planning on writing about the things that I cannot seem to get right!

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

