I love my abue

My abue was the best. I miss her so much! I don’t think people can even comprehend this, at least no one in Canada. If I am a decent person, it is because of my abue and my mum’s  hard work when I was a kid.

My abue raised me. She taught me how to study, how to shower*, how to respect others and be responsible, how to do my homework, how to bake and be good to plants. I watched so many soap-operas with her: we spent many afternoon watching  Sebastian and Gaviota, we would be angry with evil Evangelina Vizcaino. I associate soap-operas with happiness, with the happy childhood that I had with my abue.

For so many years during lunch time, my abue forced me to eat everything that I was served…and I’m so thankful for that. During those long lunch hours we would watch together  Lolita Ayala o Paco Stanley.

20160731_134258

Veracruz, 1987

She also taught me to love music (and dancing), from Mozart to Pérez Prado, from Pavarotti to José José and Frank Sinatra. She was the only one that encouraged to listen things that my mum would be entirely against, like El Cigala, Silvio o Lila Downs.

My abue taught me to pray, to believe in God, to have faith…how can I not be thankful for that? She used to  lit her blessed paschal candle when I had exams.

My abue always knew all my friends, and all my friends loved my abue very much.

My abue was the best at telling stories, specially from her childhood and youth. My Avi and I used to ask her to reenact some of our favourite stories like when she danced la conga in school, or how she met my Avi while jumping in the balcony dancing mambo.

My abue always used the best sayings…these are so neat and I should dedicate an entire post about them.

I’m very sad that I never got to spend another Christmas with her and my Muñequito. She always told me “don’t be disappointed hija, you’ll see how one day a good looking blonde man will fall in love with you…because blond guys like beautiful brunette dark girls like you, you need to be patient…you’ll see“.

I pray for my abue every day. I know she is happy when I put mascara in my eyes  because the eyes are the door of the soul she used to say. I know she would love to see me wearing Frida Khalo braids, and the dresses and skirts that I wear during the summer.

I pray for her, because I know one day she’ll be with her favourite Saint Jude Thaddaeus  and St. John Paul II. And when that day comes, and I know she’ll pray for me as well.

*Morgan finds it weird that I always mention the shower part,  but believe me, Canadians don’t really understand proper showers and hygiene the same way we do it in Latin America, so yes, the shower part is important!
About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

