Our Love In Canada

Our love in Canada is:

 

Multicultural

We’re in!  We look different,

and actually, we are different!

A mestiza and a white man,

a Mexican and a Canadian.

I have no interest in finding out where exactly my great-grandfather from Spain comes from. But  I know you can tell me everything about your family’s background. I don’t get why Canadians care about this, and I know you family doesn’t get why I have no interest in finding out my Aztec roots.

Cold

Yes, this is accurate too.

Even if we live in the warmest place in the country

you cannot compare

49.2827° N, 123.1207° W with

19.03 N, 098.12° W

(yes, that’s how much I love you!)

 

Maple syrup flavoured

I chose this flavour because I think it may be the only decent and respectful flavour this country has. I know this sound harsh, but you need to realize where I come from…avocados, fruits, spices, properly cooked meals! We don’t boil vegetables and serve them as side dish. But I like maple syrup, I like it when you make me waffles and I can use this delicious Canadian treat on Sunday mornings

 

Hockey Inspired, with a splash of soccer

Although it’s not really soccer on ice as I originally thought,

I’ve come to like hockey and stored in my mind lots of hockey facts.

I know you love me so much that you try to like soccer, to understand corner kicks and off-sides, to figure how the Champions works.

 

Bilingual

…not really, our love is mono-linguistic.

I only love you in English, and I know

you can only love me back in English as well.

But I couldn’t leave out this important misleading fact

about all Canadians being bilingual (English and French I must specify)

 

So here we are: multicultural and cold, sweetened by maple syrup and entertained by hockey. Loving each other with English words.  But I’m the happiest person when I’m with you. Because I love you in Canada, and my love  comes from a happy joyful Aztec- Mexican heart (what a great title for another poem!)

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

