Please, Even If You Mean Well…

It makes quite angry when people say: Ohh Silvia, you couldn’t move to (mention here any other Canadian city that is not Vancouver nor Victoria)…it would be too cold for you. I like to think people mean well, but this is why it makes me angry….

Have you seen me? Have you noticed the colour of my skin?

Have you tasted the delicious foods that come from where I was born?

Do you know that where I come from you can see  blue skies pretty much all year around?

Do you know I used to have fresh and cheap orange juice every day?

 

Well…I left all that behind, to be here in first world Canada, a place where you’re chased by raccoons, not by people trying to still your purse. I also left behind family and friends, people who I’m actually closed to…a concept that sadly, some Canadians are unfamiliar with.

So the answer is yes, of course I can move to Whitehorse if I have to. Yes, I can live in Winnipeg or Toronto. Please, even if you mean well, don’t tell me I couldn’t handle to live in cold cities in Canada. If I was able to leave so many things behind before, now that I have an amazing husband with me, of course I can leave this beautiful city where I currently live.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

