Easter Sunday Will Always Be Special

One year ago, on Easter Sunday, I received the Eucharist after 15 years of being away from such beautiful Sacrament. I cannot explain how much my life has changed since that day!

I was raised Catholic in Mexico, and I diligently completed all the basic Catholic requirements: baptism, first communion, confirmation.

As a teenager and young adult, I would pray and talk to God, yet my commitment was minimal. For months (or even years) I would not go to Mass at all. In other periods of my life, I would feel the need to go to Church, so I did it regularly. However, during all these years, I saw no point in going to confession. I knew I couldn’t receive the Eucharist, but this didn’t make me change my lifestyle or thinking. As time passed, I just became afraid of going to confession, and eventually I stopped thinking about it.

Years passed, went to university, moved to Canada, went to university again and got civilly married to a wonderful man, Morgan. I suffered from depression, things were difficult. My entire immigration experience was not what I have envisioned. For some reason I wasn’t mad at God, so I would still randomly pray and ask Him for things.

My excuse for not attending Mass in Canada was that I didn’t know any prayers in English, how was I supposed to follow Mass in a different language? Somehow the Holy Spirit never gave-up on me. Last year, one of my resolutions was to start attending Mass every Sunday. I just googled “Catholic Mass in English” printed lots of pages and showed up the second Sunday of 2015. I haven’t missed a single Sunday ever since! I realized that my resolution of only attending Mass was not enough. Although I was quite scared, I asked Father Justin if I could go to confession with him. I had no idea what to do in the confessional. Father kindly guided me towards this amazing Sacrament.  I went to confession on Ash Wednesday, and during Lent my husband and I got ready to get our marriage blessed (Convalidation is the proper Cannon Law term).

Soon enough I realized that I was the prodigal son, which is quite an irony because I never really liked this parable. I was that lost and dead daughter that because of the Father’s unconditional love was welcome back without any judgments. Not only God welcomed be back into his Church, but I immediately received the love and generosity of a wonderful parish community where I have found friendships and so much love.

I love coming back from Bible class and faith studies. I feel so honored when I act as a Sacristan –setting up the Altar to celebrate Mass-. I enjoy greeting people at the Welcome Booth, I love working with my CWL sisters.

I was lost and far away from the Father, yet, his unconditional love and mercy has brought so much love and happiness into my life.

 

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

