This Stuff is Real

On Sunday I was part of a bake sale. I did some baking that I brought for the sale, I helped setting up, wrapping the treats into plates, cleaning up. As an immigrant I thought bake sales were a myth, just like lemonade stands, school science fairs, summer camps and many more things.

The first time I saw a lemonade stand with two little kids I was so excited. I didn’t know lemonade stands were real. We don’t have such thing in Mexico. Yes, I know we have lots of informal commerce stands (puestos) all around the cities where you can easily get tacos, pirate DVD’s, candy, piñatas,underwear and pretty much everything you can think of. Mexican kids sell all sort of things in the streets. But the lemonade stands in this country are like the ones Mexicans get to see in foreign TV shows: with little blond gringos selling lemonade in a cute setting on a grassed sidewalk with fancy housing behind it.

Schools science fairs are real too. Again, we don’t have such things in Mexico.  I’ve never experienced them first hand in Canada-clearly I’m not a kid, and I know very few children in here-, but I know that my husband’s mother won the science fair at the state level. She won with a planet-base science project when she was in elementary school.

Oh! And those summer camps with lakes and pine trees are  real as well.  Summer camps in Mexico (they’re not even called camps, but summer courses instead cursos de verano) are usually in classrooms, and if they involve sports they only last a few hours a day. I remember one summer my curso de verano was  daily English lessons in a former convent building (about 400 years old). When the English teacher was no with us, the older kids used to tell scary stories. Then, we were all terrified to go to the bathroom alone, specially on cloudy and rainy days. As you can see, this is not even close to those cute little cabins surrounded by giant tress and melted marshmallows at nigh.

I wonder what kind of thing will be my new “it is not a myth, it is real” in the coming months.

Ps: Now that I’m thinking about my English curso de verano in that former convent, I really enjoyed it.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Non fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

