They’re Just People

About a month ago I realized that I was becoming obsessed with wanting certain people in my life to like me.

It made me very upset that some people that in my mind should like me,  simply didn’t do it, or perhaps they just didn’t like me the way I wanted them to do it. For years (and I really mean years) I tried very hard to be liked by these people. The truth is, they probably like me in a way  that I don’t understand at all.  But it is not until now that I realized, these people don’t need to like me at all! Lots of people dislike me, why would these people I’m so obsessed about should be any different? They’re just people! They must have reasons to dislike me. And they may have no reasons at all, but they are free to dislike me.

I guess we always want to be liked by certain people: people we admired, family members, coworkers, etc.   It never occurred to me that it was quite narcissist to expect people to like me just because I’m me, because I’ve tried very hard to gain your approval, because I want you to like me in this ideal way which I think is the correct way to show love and acceptance.

I think I’m a decent person, but there are lots of things which are not that great about me. And even what I may think is a good quality in me, it may not have the same importance in other people’s scale of values.

Lots of people really like, many others don’t. I’m confident many people feel indifferent about me as well. And that’s all right, no soy monedita de oro para caerle bien a todo mundo (Mexican saying that roughly translates into I’m not a golden coin to be liked by everyone).

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Non fiction and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

