Like the Movie

Twitter just told me that today is National Dog Day, and while reading this I saw a picture from the Disney movie The Lady and the Tramp. My abue used to say how her love story with my Abi was like La Dama y el Vagabundo (the title in in Spanish). Based on all the things I know about their love story, I believe my abue is right.

My abue wasn’t rich as a young girl (well, she has never been money rich at all), but her family had way more financial stability and resources that my Abi’s family. My Abi was poor, but he has always been the most hard-working person that I’ve known. I think he started working since he was about 11 or 12 years old (selling little earrings in the market). He has never stopped working; he is 83 years old, and still works more than 8 hours a day.

Unlike The Lady and the Tramp, my abue and my Abi never had any kids. I’m very confident they two of them have never eaten spaghetti in a restaurant.  I think about them all the time, multiple things make me think of them, and of all those things The Lady and the Tramp is always one of them.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Non fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

