Mother of Words

Soy madre…I am a mother

 

 

I’ve given birth to words. 

Images, ideas, wishes, dreams and regrets,

sad and lonely thoughts, but also

loving words to wrap my love ones close to my heart.

Simple and clear statements about me, my surroundings.

Words that describe who I am and where I’m coming from.

Letters put together that create the meaning of my life.

 

I’ve named my creations, I’ve seen them grow. 

Short and crawling stanzas that with time have learned to walk.

Fearful sentences that have received critiques, rejections and indifference, but also, so much love.

And because of that love, they’ve grown so much, they have established wonderful links with people around the world.

They’re truly an extension of me.

 

I’ve nurtured my  writing with music, books and experiences. 

How could I have written without the beautiful music that has always been part of my life?

How could I have not been influenced by the wonderful books that I’ve read over so many winters and summers?

My personal joys and tears, hopes and dreams have infused the essence of my writing.

Distance and the sea,

tea and the sky

my childhood and my hopes,

what I’ve read and what I want to be

the pianos and guitars playing while I think.

The love I have, sometimes that’s all I need to start.

 

I am a mother of words,

I’ve named my creations

I’ve nurtured them because we are one.  

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

