A Prodigal Return

I’ve never been a big fan of the parable of the Prodigal Son, the one in the Gospel of Luke. I’m not really against the Prodigal Son, and I’m fully aware that the point of the story is the great and unconditional love that the father has for his son. My trouble has always been with the good son, because c’mon, he’s been good all this time! He’s worked hard and helped his father, and yet, he gets no party or any expressed recognition.

Interestingly enough, I think I’ve become the Prodigal Son!  After years of been away from the Catholic Church, now that I’m back as an active member of my Parrish I’ve been welcomed with unconditional love and kindness, without any judgments or reproaches. It is quite incredible how people have shown me so much love. I can tell they care about me, and that means so much to me.

I was never really away from God, but it is true that I clearly disobeyed  basic and important principles of Catholicism for many years. Last Easter Sunday I received Holy Communion after not doing so for 15 years, pretty much half of my life. This of course needed to be preceded by talking to the priest and confess all my fouls for so many years.

Yes, I was nervous telling 15 years of sins without really having any excuse for my actions. But like the Prodigal Son, God’s love towards me is merciful and unconditional, it is welcoming and warm, it is the perfect meaning of love. Because I was lost, but now I’ve been found.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

