Random abue’s knowledge

My abue is the best. She raised me and loved me very much. I will always be thankful for that. I’m fortunate enough that she is still alive, however, I’m not physically close to her anymore. She taught me how to properly shower, how to study, pray, do my homework, bake, knit, look after plants (because of her I have a green thumb) the importance of respect and discipline and so many other things.  While growing up with her I was able to hear wonderful stories of all kinds. Today I’ll write just 3 random pieces of knowledge that my abue firmly believed, and that me, as a child never questioned. Even now, I don’t question those sayings or believes because they make me happy, they remind me of who I am and where I come from. And really, my abue is always right!

  • Eating watermelon at night may kill you. That’s what she used to say, so even if it was a hot summer night, watermelon was not allow once it was dark or considered nighttime. Even now, I won’t eat watermelon past 6:00 pm and of course I won’t allow my husband to do it.
  • While eating popcorn drink soda, never water, otherwise the popcorn will get glued to your stomach. To me, this is even stranger than the watermelon thing, but I  still do it. Don’t let me get started in how this needs to be cured.
  • Having once a week a teaspoon of olive oil will “create stomach” in little kids. I have no idea what this means! ahahahha But as a kid, for a few years, every Saturday morning I used to have a teaspoon of olive oil para crear estomaguito, which literally means “to create or form a tummy”. On my grandma’s defense I can say that I never had any kind of stomach or digestive issues under her care. My stomach and digestion were always happy until I moved to Canada.

I need to start working in a post about family/Mexican sayings, which are very accurate and most of the time hilarious if I think in the translations!

 

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

