My reasons today

I miss Mexico because of its sun, its people and food.

Cloudless days, hot and melting sidewalks;

friendly people saying buenos días and smiling at you.

Endless options of deliciousness at home, in the streets, in every corner.

 

 I miss Mexico because I was born there, I became the persona I am today in cement houses, in old buildings.

I grew up in cold cement houses, visiting churches that were hundreds years old

 Because my school was beautiful and I loved going every single day.

Cement is solid and strong, like the discipline my abue  raised me with.

 

I miss Mexico because my mum is there, the best one of all. And right now, when I think of her, I wish I could hug her.

She worked so hard when I was a kin so I could have everything,

she has always loved me, and I cannot think of a better mum.

 

 I miss Mexico because I understand how it works, the terrible, the good.

I understand our passion for soccer, for El Tri,

our devotion to the Lady of Guadalupe,

I know the importance of telenovelas, and sadly, not to expect anything from the police, politicians and our government.

I know that you vote for the candidate who  steals, but at least care about the people.

 

I miss Mexico because I don’t visit often, because of the sun and cement, because of my mum and everything going on in that beautiful moon’s navel land.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

