Happy Gratitude

I was very happy when I was a child. I loved going to school, I loved staying at home or playing with my neighbours in the communal patio we shared. I loved glancing at my abue’s telenovelas while doing my homework in the dinning room table

I didn’t go to birthday parties or play-dates, but I was happy.

I didn’t have a father, but I knew my mum, abue and Avi loved me so much.

I didn’t go out to restaurants, but I loved staying home with my mum on Saturday’s afternoon eating potato chips with chile y limón.

We didn’t have a lot of money, or a car.

We didn’t travel.

I never called anyone papá.

But I was happy.

I was always aware of my mum’s hard work and all the sacrifices she made so I could have new uniforms and shoes every year; I knew my mum would work overtime so the Three Wise Men could always stop in my house.

I don’t remember ever been sad as a child, all my memories evoke smiles. I know I owe all of these to my mum and abue. And I smile while writing this, I feel so lucky to still have in my life -even from far way-such wonderful women.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

