The Right to Complaint

 

You can get lucky

and everything will go well.

You may force yourself to feel lucky

and everything will falsely go well.

 

Nobody ever warned you about it

what is it to warned about?

They’re friendly, there are trees

it is the First World

and you’re lucky it has welcomed you.

 

But their apparent friendliness will make you feel inadequate,

their lifestyle and standards will make you feel stupid,

You won’t belong

you won’t fit in

you can try, and try

but the trees may be the only ones that accept you for who you are.

 

It is a journey that doesn’t seem to end,

it isn’t easy

it is a struggle that you’ll need to fight alone

and be careful how you approach it,

because even the smaller amount of privilege

will deny you the right  to cry and complaint.

 

But at least for today

I’ve granted myself the right to complaint, cry, be disappointed and curse

because I’m better than all this crap!

 

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Literature, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

