Drinking

A cup of Cream Earl Grey can fix it all:

sadness,

tears,

loneliness,

disappointment.

 

A cup of Cream Earl Grey can inspire you to:

write,

stop crying,

do something new,

find motivation out of nowhere.

 

A cup of Cream Earl Grey can make your day:

less grey,

not so rainy,

tolerable,

hopeful.

 

Oh!, but a glass of pulque or Mexican agua de limón

will even make me start writing in first person

and forget all grammar formalities.

A glass of pulque would make me cry of happiness,

of a kind of joy I barely remember.

A glass of agua de limón would make me feel like my old self;

not the one that I’m now,

the one that gets buried deeper and deeper every day in this foreign land

that is now my home.

 

But my reality is that I have a cup of Cream Earl Grey,

and I really like it, actually I love it.

However, I dream that one day

I will drink pulque and some agua de limón again.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Poetry, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

