Sol

I’m convinced Tonatiuh is mad at me.

He punishes me because I’ve abandoned Him,

He doesn’t believe in my tears when I say that I miss Him;

Instead, He laughs at me so hard

that the sky cries season after season.

 

I’ve spent so many years under the sun, under Tonatiuh’s breath,

but now I spend my days yearning for His power.

The sacrifices I’ve made to honor Him do not satisfied Him;

perhaps because my actions have taken place on Musqueum land

and I don’t think Tonatihu is acquainted with the Musqueum people.

 

He doesn’t reign where I live,

yet, He has managed to contact Those in charge where I sleep

so they can guaranteed Him my unhappiness.

I wonder if the Ones in charge of my sleep even like me, why would they?

I live on unceded Indigenous land,

a place where honour, respect and recognition

have been ignored for too long.

 

How can I get Tonatiuh to love me again?

How can I fix this?

 

I don’t think He’ll ever forgive me for leaving Him behind,

but I hope that He knows, how much I love Him and miss Him.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Literature, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

