Mi Mamá

I miss you every day,

I think about you daily.

It upsets me to know so many people without someone like you in their lives,

I love you so much.

 

I imagine us walking down the street,

seating in a coffee shop while you ask me why the coffee here is so strong;

you wonder why people don’t dress any better

and you can’t understand why there are so many immigrants and nobody seems to be able to speak French.

I wish you were here.

 

I don’t have that magic and happy memory of us, together;

I would be lying if I say otherwise.

But I clearly remember that I could recognize the sound of your footsteps meters before you came into the door;

I know for sure that the best part of my day used to be when you were back from work, at night.

Because thanks to you and my abue, I never felt sad or lonely when I was a kid.

Because I know how hard you worked and how much you sacrificed so I could have my  uniform and new shoes ready for school, and always a happy Christmas: always.

 

It deeply bothers me when people don’t love their moms the way I love you;

I feel they don’t value and respect their mothers enough, yet I know not everybody is as lucky as I am.

I want you to be here, so I can rub on people’s face how perfect you are (I know it sounds harsh, but I really want to do it. I think we’ve done this unintentionally in Mexico, haven’t we?)

I want to show people how perfectly we get along, how close and together we’ve always been.

 

I miss you every day, and sometimes, at night

I just want you to be with me.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

