Strenght Found

When I do my eagle pose I think of Mexico.

Find strength in your eagle, said my yoga teacher a few weeks ago. I didn’t know what to think, I really dislike all birds except for hummingbirds. I’m scared every time I see bald American eagles in my neighbourhood. I’m afraid of parrots, ostriches, penguins and crows.

But suddenly, it came to me. I found the strength my teacher was talking about. I thought of the Mexican eagle standing in my flag, but more than remembering the foundation of the great Tenochtitlan, I thought of the eagle as a symbol of my mexicanidad, of who I am.

When I think who I am, and where I come from, I find strength; I feel this sensation that sometimes is lost inside of me. I feel empowered.

Ever since I found the strength in my eagle, it has become one of my favourite asana.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

