Languages, Places and Dreams

I love you in English,

I can’t love you in any other language.

I don’t love you in Shakespeare’s words,

Neither in Cervantes’.

I love you with my own made up language of Spanish diminutives (that is what makes you my Muñequito).

When I think of you, there aren’t any Spanish words that can describe how I feel

Because loving you is something I do with my English-speaking heart,

A heart that tried for years to love and be loved in the land of the moon’s navel, and failed every time

(That is right, that’s what the word Mexico means…you never know what you can learn by reading a poem)

No puedo amarte, instead I love you.

Falling in love with you made me wrote beautiful stanzas in Spanish,

But once in love with you,

I needed to share my feelings in the language you know.

I want you to know how much I love you.

I know you don’t love me in English,

You love me in a way that goes beyond Oxford’s list or recognized words.

You love me with your hands that caress kindness

You love me with your blue eyes that whisper every morning the love I’ve always dreamt of.

I have you with me every night

and when I hug you and kiss you,

languages, places and dreams don’t matter anymore.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

