My two countries

I went to a school that taught me to love my country. I learned to deeply respect Mexico’s three national symbols: the flag, the national anthem and the coat of arms.  My school was a very strict one, our principal was a Colonel  and discipline was as important as math. All male students, from little kids to high school teenagers, always had perfect short hair; we all had shinning black shoes that were inspected on Mondays; we all knew how to march and even sing the army’s anthem. I know it is a little strange, but I always loved it all, especially the  weekly Monday morning ceremonies where we paid our respects to the flag. My school was named after a group of 6 young men considered national heroes because of their bravery during the Mexico-USA war in 1847.

Anyways, all this information is to partially justify how much my patria –apparently this word simply translate as my country-means to me. I totally disapproved when people don’t respect the flag or when they don’t know how to salute it. Simply put, I love Mexico with all my heart.  Of course there are things I wish could be different, from less corruption to a real respect for our indigenous groups, minorities and people’s sexual rights.

In two weeks, by this time, I will have become a Canadian citizen, a legal process that has taken me years. I’m so happy and proud about it. I know for sure I’ll cry when I sing by the first time O Canada.  Oh! I will probably cry as well when I get to vote for the first time (I can’t wait for election day!).

Becoming a Canadian citizen means more than getting a passport from a first world country, or swearing allegiance to the Queen (by the way, I really love Queen, in case you want to know, I write to her regularly and I love getting her answers by Royal Mail). Canadian citizenship to me, it’s a privilege that comes with responsibilities that go beyond any written statements.

I will always respect  Emiliano Zapata’s ideals and admire my beloved José Vasconcelos; I will always love that hungry eagle eating a snake that was a sign for the nahuas about where to found the great Tenochtitlan.  But now, I feel a great gratitude and respect for the Musqueam  people where my house is standing right now; I’m thankful to all the war veterans, not just in Remembrance Day but all year around, that fought for this country: my country.  I have new people to like and admire, a diversity that goes from Louis Riel to Joe Beef.  From now on, every time I sing the Canadian national anthem I will feel immensely proud to live in The True North strong and free!

I so happy that on November 15th I will become a Canadian citizen!

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, So you can know me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

