Tired of your appropriations

I’m tired of people and their appropriation of Mexican culture. More specifically, I’m tired of some Canadians around me who think they know more about Mexico than me. I know I sound bitter and angry, but I’ve reached my limit, and I don’t care anymore.

Eating a soft taco with a flour tortilla doesn’t mean you understand Mexican cuisine, or that you have a say about chipotles. I don’t want to know your best recipe for chunky salsa. Let me tell you that chunky salsas are fake; the only chunky salsa you should be having is pico de gallo. You probably don’t even know what a molcajete its and its importance in the preparations of salsas.

I’m tired of those drinking a Corona on 5 de mayo (in Spanish, months are not capitalized) and how suddenly they can lecture me about the celebration of this day. I was born in the only state that cares about 5 de mayo. I’m from the city where the battle of 5 de mayo took place. I can name generals and important places for this historical moment in Mexican history. Please stop thinking that by eating a burrito on this day and sharing that information with me I will feel empathy towards you because you’re trying to understand my culture.

Stop pretending you know about día de muertos (that’s what is called…and if you don’t know what I’m talking about you’ve proven my point) just because you think calacas and flowers on your hair look cool. Dress like that if you want, but please don’t say is about Day of the Dead because you have no idea what you’re talking about.

I could go on and on…and I could write angrier things as well. This topic is good for essays and dissertations.  But I feel liberated now, and I think my point it’s been made.

Some people just like Mexican food,  piñatas and Mexican skulls. And I like that. I respect them more than hipsters eating organic tacos and having fake piñata parties.

Note: By the way, in Mexico we don’t put pieces of lime inside beer bottles.

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, So you can know me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

