Ready in English

I like thinking that I’m a writer (although twice in recent years I’ve been asked if I’m a writer, and both times I’ve answered “no”), and that at least I’m moderately talented.  I write well in Spanish which  is my mother tongue. But I’ve been living in Canada for 6 years now, I went to university and wrote fancy paper with made-up words and I got good grades in them. I think is time to write in English, a blog in English where I can tell stories, publish the few poems I’ve written in English, and just practice my everyday English. I dream with writing a book -many in fact- and I think my first book will be probably in English.

I’m terrified to make grammatical mistakes, again, because I don’t think I have many misspellings or grammatical issues with my Spanish. However, I will try my best to write properly, mostly because like my blog’s title say: I’m ready en inglés (I’m ready in English…sentence that now I realize doesn’t make any sense, but a few minutes ago it did, and now it’s too late to be changed).

I’m excited and nervous, but confident that a few people will like this blog

I apologize if the blog is not looking very good, I’m not familiar with WordPress yet, and it will take me a while to get everything they way I like.

Meanwhile, if you know Spanish, you can read my other blog, if not, well you can wait or read my poorly written profile

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in So you can know me. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ready in English

  1. Cynthia says:

    Dear Silvia,
    How wonderful to get to read you in your adopted language!!
    Best of lucks with this new and exciting project! I love the part where you say that your first book will be in English. Nabokov, felt more comfortable writing in English than in Russian and Ionesco adopted French to become a writer!
    Isn’t it funny who things turn out? Life never stops surprising us.
    I am sure you’ll be a famous Canadian writer one day!
    Hugs,
    Cynthia

    Like

Leave a Reply

