Wanting and Missing

I miss the warm flavours of Navidad, el ponche, the laughs, the fun. I miss complaining about drastic changes in temperature; from cold morning where you need jackets and boots to the midday heat where the only thing you want it’s a cold refreshing drink. I want to break a piñata with my friends in a posada and look and the large Nativity scenes on people’s front yards.

I want to go with my mum to the market and be outraged about the prices of chiles secos and tomatoes for the Christmas Eve dinner.

I miss Christmas Eve breakfast downtown Puebla with my friend Tere.

I miss the yearly dilemma of what kind of cake should we get for my Christmas day birthday (that of course must be bought on Christmas Eve). I want to get ready for my family dinner on Christmas Eve. I want my Avi to tell me, Muñeca, te ves muy guapa.

I miss singing to Baby Jesus,

A la roro niño
A lo roro ya
Duérmete mi niño
Duérmete mi amor.

I miss the delicious Christmas Eve dinner, the excess of flavours and chatting on the dinning table.

I miss my Christmas birthday with my family. The early Las Mañanitas, and el recalentado from the day before.

There is so much missing and so much wanting. And I had it all for so many years…

About silviaeningles

I’m Silvia and these are some interesting things about me: I was born in Puebla, a beautiful city in central Mexico. It is an old city, founded in 1531 I live in Vancouver, British Columbia in Canada I have a blog in Spanish that you’re welcome to read (http://comenzandolashistorias.blogspot.ca/) I love hummingbirds, tea and Mexican candy I really enjoy when readers write and comment on my posts I love writing, and I really enjoy poetry (reading aloud my favourite poems always makes me happy)
This entry was posted in Life, Non fiction, So you can know me and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment